Last year, just 10%* of registered voters participated in town elections. These decisions are often made by a small handful of voters. If you care about this town and its ability to serve the needs of a diverse community of people, please submit your ballot in person or by mail on or before May 21. Ballot boxes will be open from 7am to 8pm on May 21 in the Holliston High School gymnasium.

Below we share resources on each of the candidates, including (in some cases) interviews focused on DEI on our podcast, Coffee & Community. We reached invited all contested candidates to speak with us; all but three accepted the offer. The recordings below have been edited for clarity and brevity but full recordings are available upon request, as are ai-generated transcripts of the conversations. 

For an overview of how Holliston’s Town Government works, please review this episode of Just Thinking from 2021. 

Also check out our guide to voting with a lens of equity and inclusion as well as our blog post about Town Meeting, which takes place on May 7 at 6pm in the Holliston High School Auditorium.


Open Seats in this year’s election:

Review the sample ballot

  • BOARD OF ASSESSORS (vote for 1)
    • Jeffrey A. Marshall
  • BOARD OF HEALTH (vote for 1)
    • John D. Leary, Jr.
  • LIBRARY TRUSTEE (vote for 1)
    • Robert M. McGrath
  • FINANCE COMMITTEE (vote for 2)
    • James M. Robinson, Jr.
    • Matthew W. Leach
  • FINANCE COMMITTEE (vote for 1)
    • Jonathan M. Nauss
  • PARK COMMISSIONER (vote for 2)
    • H. Shaw Lively
    • Richard A. Morse

*A previous version of this story stated that less than 2% of the population participated in town elections. We have updated the story to refer only to the percentage of registered voters that participated, as it is a more accurate reflection of engagement.

More Information on the Contested Candidates

Tracey McSherry

Select Board

Damon Dimmick

Select Board

Karen Apuzzo Langton

Planning Board 
James Read
Planning Board
  • DH Coffee & Community interview – declined to participate
  • Facebook Page
  • Candidate website
  • Just Thinking interview
  • Holliston Reporter Meet the Candidate – not found
  • LinkedIn – not found
Hilary Bresnahan 
School Committee
Joe Paru 
School Committee

Alon Yaari

School Committee